10 on Tuesday

The delightful Heidi from Him_Me_Three has started a new feature on her website called 10 on Tuesday.  The idea is that a different person each week answers 10 simple questions about themselves so that other bloggers can get to know them a little better.  If you would like to take part, you can contact Heidi on Twitter @Him_Me_Three or via her blog: http://himmethree.blogspot.com.

This post first appeared on Heidi’s blog in October 2011.  Here are my questions and answers.

Who are you?  Describe your family.

My name is Polly and I live with my husband and small son in a village in Kent.  I’m an aspiring writer and to that end I recently started a blog www.caughtwriting.co.uk and researched various writing courses which I hope will teach me how to write properly and how to make writing for a living financially viable.

What is your average day like?

My little chap is attending four morning sessions of preschool a week now, so after breakfast and seeing my husband off to work and tidying up, he goes to preschool.  While he’s gone I either do some writing or go to the gym or, as I’ve been doing this week, catching up on all the other things that need doing like the ironing, mending a pirate costume, rebooking RugbyTots, shopping for presents for parties we’ve been invited to and organising the little man’s own 4th birthday party.  In the afternoon we usually have a friend round or go to someone else’s house to play.  On Mondays we go to a sports group that the little chap has joined, otherwise we play in the park or at home together.  Once the little man is in bed I go to Fat Fighters, Italian classes or a Book Group.

What did you do before becoming a full time mum?

I’ve done lots of things!  I worked in property management (not to be confused with estate agency) before having the little chap, which involved managing central London office blocks for the owners.  Before that I had several PA jobs and before that I trained in the care of people with mental health issues.  It was good grounding for some of the jobs which came afterwards!

If you found yourself unexpectedly child-free for the day, what would you do?

This happens very rarely, but the last time I was unexpectedly child free I spent the whole day reading.  I was half way through The Secret Daughter by Shilpa Somaya Gowda at the time and followed it with Sister by Rosamund Lupton.  I finished them both.  I might take a drive out to the nearest coffee shop and read their newspapers.  If I still lived in London, I would wander down the road to the cinema, watch a film and then find a table at the cocktail bar opposite and slowly drink a jug of something, sitting on their rooftop terrace and watching the world go by.

Do you have a claim to fame?

I once had a conversation with Helen Simpson at one of her book signings.  She was lovely, I was completely awestruck.

Which four people, dead or alive, would you invite to dinner?

I’d invite Mozart, the composer, because he was an incredible talent and the life and soul of any party, by all accounts.  I’d invite Richard E Grant, the actor, because he has some amazing stories to tell and I could listen to his voice all evening.  He could read the phone book and make it sound appealing.  I’d like to have my great-grandmother over to dinner too.  I call her Ginny Cox because she liked a drop of the fragrant drink.  She was apparently a bit of a character in London’s East End in her time and I like a bit of notoriety!  Lastly I would ask Nicola Horlick, the City banker and mother of six, because I think she could do with a night off and also to ask her how on earth she does it all (probably with a lot of help).  There’s an eclectic group of people!  I’m not sure they’d all get on, but I’d have a great time!

What do you value most about where you live?

The local school is a good one.  It’s a quiet area in which to live.

Where do you see yourself in ten years’ time?

I’m an aspiring writer and so would like to have built a thriving and profitable freelance business within that time frame.

What would be the top three on your Bucket List?

Firstly, I would love to witness the Aurora Borealis on a night when the show is particularly spectacular.  This is a long held ambition.  Secondly, I want to do some proper independent travelling, even if it’s only for a month or two.  I think I might become one of those women who set off around the world once the little ones are safely through University and earning their own income.  Thirdly, I’d like to live in a foreign country and be able to speak its language.  I’ve lived all over England, but never aboard.  I’m currently studying Italian, so Italy is a possible destination.  I’d also like to live in London again.  (Sorry, that’s four, but I couldn’t decide which one to lose).

What do you like to do in your spare time?

In common with probably most people reading this, I don’t have much spare time so my aims are modest.  I like to be able to read the newspaper uninterrupted on occasion.  Similarly, I like to be able to read a good book in chunks of more than a few pages.  I like to meet friends for coffee, with or without the children.  I like to write and keep the blog up to date.  I’d like to go to the cinema or theatre, but we live so far from the nearest ones that it requires planning (and a babysitter these days!).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 10 on Tuesday

  1. Ally Bean says:

    Your answers are informative. Very nice. I feel like I know you better now.

    Love the bit about training in mental health issues– and the subsequent use of said knowledge while working in the real world. Ain’t it the truth? There are lots of unbalanced ppl our there.

  2. Zazzy says:

    I particularly enjoyed your list of people to have over for dinner. I’d love to have my great-uncle Charlie and his wife Bonnie for dinner, I’ve heard stories about them all my life. Bonnie was a Ziegfeld girl! They always sounded like the most interesting people in my dad’s side of the family.

  3. susankmann says:

    Love this, you can get so much information and feel for someone from these types of posts. x

  4. Hi Polly. I enjoyed reading this. Posts like this are great for getting to know a little more about each other. Even the little details such as, an average day, I find interesting. I’m with you on travelling once the little people have flown the nest. Sounds like a grand plan to me! x